Fed Up with this Sugar Coated Life

fedupsugarcoatedWell July whizzed past in a humid haze of gluttony and sloth. I went on a little trip. I got my financial situation that has haunted me for over a dozen years back under my own control. I cut off all my hair (not myself this time, I went to the salon). I have been eating out too much, drinking too much, sleeping too little, working too much, cleaning too little, and generally just going with the flow. It has been hot. But worse, it has been humid. Weeks and weeks of sweat drenching mind numbing days with very few reprieves. But yesterday was lovely. I have some hope for today. And today is the first day of my Juicing Reboot! Finally!

In preparation yesterday I went grocery shopping. I have been vegetarian before. I have eaten healthy for long periods before. I have followed every diet known to mankind. But never have I ever gone to the grocery store and only shopped in the fresh produce section. Yesterday, I did it twice at two different chains. And it was a little weird not to venture down any aisle or walk across the back of the store. Just me and a cart overflowing with green stuff.

My shopping list was bizarre too … 33 apples, 10 oranges, 6 peaches, 3 cups of blueberries, 10 lemons, 26 carrots (crossed off my list, but no carrots to be found when I got home, none listed on the receipt), 22 celery sticks, 9 cucumbers, 5 bunches of kale, 3 bunches of leafy greens, 3 pears, 4 bunches of spinach, 1 head of romaine, 8 beets, 3 sweet potatoes, 3 celery roots (not found, should have got a turnip for substitution), 3 parsnips, 1 bunch of fresh parsley, 1 bunch of fresh basil (also not found, I bought a basil paste to try instead), and a 7 inch piece of fresh ginger root.

Honestly, I was petrified about how much this would cost when I got to the cash. But it wasn’t that bad, lots of things are in season right now. My fridge is filled to capacity and I have bags of fruit on the counter that don’t need refrigeration. This is what I will juice and consume over the next five days. IT IS A LOT! I mean, if I was going to eat it all the way it is, there’s no way I would. I couldn’t. The thought of eating 33 apples in five days … crazy!

I was struck by the price to food ratio as I unpacked my bags when I got home. People always say it is too expensive to eat healthy. But if I were going to eat this stuff, I would have only needed a fraction of what I bought. I would not have spent hardly anything if I went with the intention of buying enough produce to eat for five days. It is meat that is expensive, especially any of the good hormone and antibiotic free organic meat.

I went to Shoppers Drug Mart and bought huge cans of Blue Menu low sodium black beans, red kidney beans, white kidney beans, and chickpeas for only 99 cents each. I have Ezekiel sprouted bread, English muffins and tortilla wraps frozen in my freezer that I bought when they were on sale. I have a block of tofu in my fridge. I could have bought $20 worth of fresh produce and eaten extremely well all week. But yet, everyone is under the impression that eating healthy is expensive. I always believed that too. And here in the dead of winter, it can be a bit more expensive. Lots of frozen berries come into play then for sure. But right now, in season, we should all be eating kale! 🙂

After my shopping excursion I hit up Netflix for some additional motivation. I watched two documentary films. The first was narrated by Katie Couric. Fed Up is all about what the food industry is doing to our kids. From targeting them through advertising to adding sugar to absolutely everything from baby formula to peanut butter, cereal to milk, in order to get kids addicted so they’ll have lifetime customers. In the States it is even worse than here because the food industry is in the school system, where pizza and french fries are considered vegetables. But we still have a lot of work to do in Canada too, to make it easier for parents to feed their kids well. By the end of the film I was fed up. Everyone should watch it, whether you have children in your life or not.

Next I watched Sugar Coated, which has a Canadian slant and is all about the politics of the sugar industry. Absolutely everyone needs to watch this one as well. The sugar industry is doing to us now exactly what the tobacco industry did to us back in the day. Remember when all those people testified that tobacco had no link to lung cancer and it was perfectly safe? Yeah, it’s that kind of deception. The lead scientist involved in this documentary might come off as a bit extreme to some people, but I like him. He asks, would you give your child a beer to drink? No, of course not. Then why would you give them a soft drink or a candy bar? I think because this film is Canadian it is able to be a bit more harsh than an American film. They are blunt. They aren’t pussy footing around the issue out of some fear of repercussion. Sugar is I think eight times as addictive as cocaine and most people are consuming over a hundred times more than the daily recommended allowance from the World Health Organization every day. It’s a real problem. And they add it into absolutely everything, making it so hard to control. Even the diet stuff, the fake sugars, screw up your system and give you diseases because your body can’t tell the difference and thinks it’s getting sugar.

Anyway, after watching all that, I was more than ready to get up this morning to begin a five day juicing reboot to get my system back on track before I start my whole food plant based diet. Basically, I’m not worrying about losing weight, tracking calories, or anything. I want to change my lifestyle so I eat real food all the time. And that’s it. I think other changes will come naturally as a result of that one thing. Real food for the win!

Author: Kellie

I'm the Content Manager/ Editor at MCG Media on the Mighty Miramichi in New Brunswick, Canada. I maintain good news websites Bread 'n Molasses, Giv'er Miramichi, Giv'er Saint John, Giv'er Fredericton and Giv'er River Valley.

1 thought on “Fed Up with this Sugar Coated Life”

Leave a Reply

